The Belfry dominates the heart of the old town from its 42m. Built in the 12th century probably on the site of a primitive château of the Counts of Millau, the mediaeval dungeon, or Tour Carrée (square tower), insured the security of the fortified walls at their south west corner. Private property from the 13th century, it was bought by the Consuls de Millau in 1613 as a base for the octagonal tower before sheltering the communal bell. And so the belfry was born. The Tour Carrée served as a prison from the 17th to the 19th centuries and notably during the revolutionary period. The building, as we see it today, has lost its beautiful spire, destroyed by fire after being hit by lightning on 19July 1811. This took the total height of the ensemble to 52 metres. From the terrace at the summit, equipped with six viewpoint panels you discover the remarkable panorama of the town and its surroundings. Millau: church of Notre-Dame de l'Espinasse, church of St Martin, Ayrolle Lavoir (wash-house). Place Foch, old houses.